Evince for Windows

Regardless if we like it or not, we all have to use Microsoft Windows sometimes. I use Ubuntu at work, I use Mac OS X on my private laptop but my father runs XP on his computer and I happen to be the local computer administrator regardless if I’m
around or not ;). Tonight he needed to read a PDF-file and Windows “works out of the box” XP does not come with any software for this purpose. But which reader should I download? I went to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_PDF_software and got very happy when I found Evince. This is the default viewer in Gnome and in my
experience it is fast (unlike Adobe Reader*), works well and doesn’t contain malware (unlike Foxit Reader). I love cross platform open source software :).

*
To be fair, you can speed up Adobe Reader by removing a set of plugins that provides some functionality that you most likely will not need (and most other reader software products don’t support).

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Evince for Windows

  1. Craig Parker says:

    I’m about to throw this on a Windows 7 laptop belonging to an elderly woman who lives in a nursing home. It might not matter, but is this easy to update? Sumatra requires a download and a reinstall — probably too many steps for this woman.

Leave a Reply

